YouYoga

YOGA THAT LETS YOU BE YOU

Strawberry-Grapefruit Smoothie July 29, 2012

I bought a juicer at the beginning of the new year.  The goal was to bring some power-packed nutrients right into my body, and so far I’ve been pleased.  I’ve tried many juices that are both fruit and veggie based, and I’ve enjoyed them all.  However, when spring came around I was able to try out some strawberries, and I love the crisp, tart, freshness they bring to a serving of morning juice.  I stumbled upon this recipe from Whole Living Magazine’s May 2012 issue.  It was part of their 3 day cleanse.

It’s believed that by using seasonal fruits and vegetables in a specific combination, one can begin flushing old waste and toxins from the digestive system.  This in turn brings a sense of well-being, possible weight-loss, and increased energy.  I must be honest, doing a cleanse is not the most fun way to experience food, but Whole Living Magazine does an excellent job at making the food tasteful, as well as interesting.

This smoothie by far is one of my favorites, and I still make it when time permits in the mornings.  If you have a high-powered blender you can use it to make these ingredients into a smoothie.  I opt to use my juicer getting down to the pure nutrients of the fruits.  Let’s get to the YUM! You will need the following ingredients:

Ingredients:

1 Ruby Red Grapefruit, peeled, seeded, and chopped

2 cups of hulled, fresh strawberries

1 sweet apple, cored and chopped.  I prefer to use Fuji apples.

1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and chopped

1 cup of water (blender only)

Press all ingredients through a juicer, or place in a high-speed blender.  Process until smooth and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

