YouYoga

YOGA THAT LETS YOU BE YOU

Pasta with Sausage and Tomatoes April 11, 2012

'Real Simple Magazine" Pasta with Sausage and Tomatoes

My goodness it’s been way too long since I’ve shared a recipe with you all!  The growth of YOUYOGA has kept me away from the stove, but I can’t say that I’ve been disappointed with not having to clean the kitchen; however, from time to time you just want something that taste like home.  So, I looked through my stack of “healthy eating” magazines for some new inspiration.  I came across a recipe from Real Simple magazine that caught my attention……mostly because I had all the needed ingredients right at my finger tips.  Never underestimate the power of a well stocked pantry and how it makes it ” real simple” to get a quality meal to the table. 

I always keep a variety of canned tomatoes, canned beans, dried pastas, along with low-sodium, boxed broths on hand.  Then all I need to do is add some fresh veggies and some spices…….presto, dinner is ready!!!  That pretty much sums up my recipe selection tonight, and whenever I can get it all into one pot the deal is sealed.  Whenever I can pack it with spinach and beans I’m even more happy.  So tonight we’ll be serving Pasta with Sausage and Tomatoes.  I used a pre-cooked chicken sausage, but I so no reason why you couldn’t use a vegan substitute, or just omit the meat all together.  I also modified a couple of the steps to save on time, and the quality of taste wasn’t effected in my opinion.  Let’s get to the YUM! 

You’ll need the following the ingredients:

1 tablespoon of Olive Oil

1 14.5 oz can of diced Itialian tomatoes

1 15.5 oz of Great Nothern Beans (drained and rinsed)

2 gloves of garlic, minced

3/4 lb of pre-cooked chicken sausage,  vegan subsitute, or nothing!

12 oz of your choice of short, whole wheat pasta (I used about two handfuls to reduce calorie content.  I seleceted Rigatoni, because I had it on hand)

3 cups of pre-washed baby spinach

salt and pepper to taste

grated Parmesan, for serving

Thinly, slice sausage on an angel.  Add to pan with olive oil and minced garlic on medium-high heat.  Cook until warmed through and slightly golden.  Meanwhile, boil water with olive oil and salt for pasta.  Add tomatoes to pan with sausage and warm through.  Layer spinach ontop of pan mixture, then add drained and rinsed beans to pan.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Cover with lid and let simmer.  Cook pasta to al-dente ( 1-2 minutes less than recommended on instructions, because it will continue to cook once placed in pan with sausage and tomatoe mixture)  Once pasta is cooked, drain off reserving 1/4 cup of pasta water.  Add pasta and water to pan.  Continue to cook without lid to allow sauce to thicken.  Serve with grated Parmesan if desired.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

