YouYoga

YOGA THAT LETS YOU BE YOU

Introducing Danelle Drury January 25, 2012

YOUYOGA in Overland Park, Ks is happy to announce the addition of  yoga instructor Danelle Drury.  She shares the same passion for yoga….seeing the practice of yoga as a way to bring out the best that already lies within self.  We feel that she will be a wonderful addition to YOUYOGA, and as things unfold we’re looking forward to adding more classes and opportunities for the whole family to begin, as well as develop a yoga practice.  Please receive Danelle with warmth and acceptance as she shares her vision, and love of yoga with YOU.

Welcome to YOUYOGA Danelle Drury

I have been doing Yoga for about ten years. It started out as just a physical workout, to improve strength, balance, flexibility – – but almost without my noticing, it grew into a spiritual journey too, and I found yoga permeating every aspect of my life. It helped me as a singer, an actor, a grade school teacher, a daughter, a partner, a friend. It really helps me be a better version of myself while, at the same time, helping me discover and appreciate who that really is. I found myself teaching yoga in my drama classes, to help with posture, relaxation and focus, and using yoga in my own acting career to balance and calm myself before going onstage.

 In 2006 I was lucky enough to spend some time in Ireland with my aunt, a wonderful and inspiring yogi and yoga teacher, helping out in her yoga studio office and assisting with teaching kids yoga classes.  I thought, “When I grow up, I want to be a yoga teacher!” I don’t know that I’ve grown up yet,  but I did my formal yoga teacher training though KC Fitness Link, and am so blessed every day by the every widening circle of yoga students, teachers and practitioners that I now find myself surrounded by.

 I love how, as Inyengar says, yoga means…”all our bones, flesh, fibers, ligaments, joints, senses, mind and intelligence are harnessed. In this way, the practice of asana, performed with all elements of our being, awakens and sharpens intelligence, until it is integrated with our senses, our mind, our memory, our consciousness and our soul.” And I love how yoga teaches us to be in the moment, day by day, accepting where we are just now and knowing that, “if you learn a lot of little things, one day you end up knowing a big thing.”

 

Leave a Reply

