YouYoga

YOGA THAT LETS YOU BE YOU

Creamy Fruit and Berry Smoothie July 5, 2011

Filed under: Recipes — YouYoga @ 11:05 am
Tags: , ,

I think most everyone appreciates a quick, healthy breakfast that you can take out the door and into the car.  SCreamy Fruit and Berry Smoothiemoothies by far are the best answer for such a situation.  Even better is a smoothie made with seasonal fruit.  I love food, but I don’t always know how to put the things I enjoy into a tasty combination.  Solution….cookbooks, wellness magazines, online foodies sites and anything else that might promise a yummy, quick bite!

I recently purchased Eat to Live by Dr. Joel Fuhrman.  The book contains an interesting section of fruit and veggie smoothies.  I have tried several and they are all enjoyable, but the Creamy Fruit and Berry Smoothie is my favorite for this time of year.  It’s an excellent smoothie to take advantage of all of the berries that are currently in season.  I also like that it makes 2 servings.  This allows for several options; second breakfast for the next morning, lunch for later in the day with half of a sandwich, or a fantabulous way for your children to have a nutritious snack.

It’s also worth noting that this smoothie is a power house of antioxidants.  Antioxidants help to improve immune function and may protect our bodies from chronic disease.

Let’s get to the YUM!  You will need the following ingredients:

1 cup pomegranate juice

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup strawberries

1/2 cup blueberries

1/2 cup frozen peaches

1 banana

2 tablespoons ground flaxseed

Blend all of the ingredients in a high-powered blender until smooth and creamy. 

Enjoy!!!

 

2 Responses to “Creamy Fruit and Berry Smoothie”

  1. Joy Says:

    This sounds delicious. I love the combination of the berries and the peaches. I recently started taking inventory of what my family eats after reading the effects sugar has on kids health on this Mom’s Guide (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/). When I started looking into sugar, I realized we eat mostly processed food. I am looking to making more nutritious snacks at home for my kids and this looks like a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!

    • opnamaste Says:

      It’s delicious….you’ll be pleased!!! It’s also really nice that the leftovers maintain consistency and flavor. It can be a challenge to find truly healthy foods in our fast-paced lifestyle. Kudos to you for working towards keeping your family healthy. I will continue to share healthy, quick and yummy recipes, so check back often for new finds.


Leave a Reply

